School of Physics - Universiti Sains Malaysia

Geophysics research collaboration with Jabatan Mineral dan Geosains (JMG) Sabah in Lahad Datu, Sabah

9-15 February 2020 - Researchers from the Geophysics group took the one in a lifetime golden opportunity to conduct a study on the active fault zone in Lahad Datu, Sabah for a week (9-15 February 2020). The study was led by three lecturers; Professor Dr. Rosli Sa’ad, Dr. Nordiana Mohd Muztaza and Dr. Nur Azwin Ismail, along with laboratory staff; Mr. Shahil Ahmad Khosani and five steadfast PhD students; Mr. Muhammad Nazrin A Rahman, Mr. Farid Najmi Rosli, Mr. Kiu Yap Chong, Mr. Mark Jinmin and Ms. Najmiah Rosli. Special appreciation given to Jabatan Mineral dan Geosains (JMG) Sabah for the utmost active and seamless collaboration throughout the whole research study.

In 2015, Sabah has recorded a total of 155 earthquakes of magnitude 2 to 5 and 4 earthquakes of magnitude greater than 6, where all of the epicentres are concentrated on the east coast of Sabah, which includes Lahad Datu. Therefore, magnetotelluric (MT), 2-D resistivity and magnetic surveys were done to get a better understanding of the active fault zone due to the northwest-southeast lithosphere compression.

[widgetkit id=132]

The Dean, School of Physics,
Universiti Sains Malaysia,
11800 USM,
Penang, Malaysia

Tel : 604 653 3200  |  Fax: 604 657 9150  |   Email :  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. |